Books and book covers

I can get really OC about book covers, because they also play a part in whether you go home with the book or not. Over the weekend I was able to get 2 books, both as a gift from Jow – My Mistress’ Sparrow is Dead by Jeffrey Eugenides and No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July (yay for the Fully Booked discount card :D).

I’m starting to read Eugenides’ book little by little. Anthologies are really nice when you’re too busy to read one big whole story, as in my case. And I fully admit that I’m a sucker for love stories, just not the uber-cheesy Jude Deveraux types (which my best friend adores to death!). Some of the pieces are familiar from my Lit class back in college, which I sadly don’t remember much. But at least I had all our readings bound–hopefully I can find them to read over the summer. It had a lot of poetry (which I’m trying to appreciate more) too.

51b5fsbbtl_sl500_aa240_

So here’s the cover of the first book. The bookmark I’m using for it even has the same exact color scheme as the cover–so geeky, right? But then I came across this one:

51b2z5hsvl_sl500_

Waah! I really love this cover :( Maybe because I’m a med student, and it reminds me so much of an anatomy book. Sometimes I hate myself for buying books really early, because sometimes editions with better or less common covers come in later on. I even have two copies of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust thanks to this bad tendency — the trade paperback version (which looks like an old leather book) and the illustrated version, although what I really wanted was the one that had a forest on the cover. I just don’t like covers that are too common or have the movie actors on them unless that’s the only choice left. I also waste a LOT of time choosing the copy to buy because I don’t like dog-ears, wrinkles, folded-up pages, etc.

Whatever, though. I just hope that one day I can be rich enough to have a room to stuff all my books in. Having my own library is one of the few definite dreams I have in life, sad but true. AND I also hope I find all my books that are missing in my room/in the house.

Posted in Life

Tags:

Permalink 1 Comment

One response to “Books and book covers

  1. I’ve heard of “My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead”. Tell me if it’s good. :)

Leave a Reply

